Chakras: Wheels of Energy in Our Bodies

This is a brief introductory post on the main chakras in our bodies. I give an overview here of each, and will be posting throughout the month a bit more in-depth on each one, and some yoga asanas I love relating to each one. Let’s begin!

Chakra is the Sanskrit word for wheel, or vortex. In our bodies, these chakras represent  spinning centres of energy. There are 6 main chakras located along the spinal column, and hundreds of smaller chakras located at intervals along the nadis, or energy meridians. It has been said the the nadis map pretty much onto the electrical circuits (nervous system) in our bodies. The energetic system of nadis and chakras delivers prana, life-force, throughout our physical and subtle bodies.

In yoga, we address not only physical dis-ease but also release energetic blocks, to ensure optimal distribution of prana and to maximise health in all our bodies, physical and subtle. Energetic blocks relate to physical symptoms and illnesses. By releasing and moving energy, by stimulating or calming the chakras, we bring ease and health to our physical and emotional bodies.


Muladhara: The root chakra. Situated at the base of the spine, it can be physically imagined 2 inches forward and up from the tailbone. It relates to base instincts, security, sense of belonging. Trigger point is the nose tip.

Svadhisthana: Sacral chakra, relating to sensuality, pleasure, personal wants and desires. Trigger point is the pubic bone.

Manipura: Solar plexus, relating to determination, direction, willpower and dilligence. Trigger point is the navel.

Anahata: Heart chakra, relating to love that is free from attachment or expectation. Trigger point is the centre of the chest.

Vihsuddhi: Throat chakra, relating to freedom of expression and speaking your truth. Trigger point is the base of the throat.

Ajna: Third eye, the control centre of the other chakras. It is through training ajna that we attain control and awareness of our minds and are able to strengthen the nervous system to open and activate the lower chakras. Attempting to awaken lower chakras without training ajna can lead to mood swings and a yo-yo effect, rather than a slow and steady improvement. Trigger point is the space between the eyebrows.

Sahasrara is the 7th chakra, but cannot be “activated” like the others. It is located at the crown of the head, or a few inches above, and is the place where pure consciousness enters the body from above. Amrit (nectar) flows downwards from sahasrara towards muladhara.


It’s a short and sweet one today! Keep your eyes peeled for upcoming posts on all 6 chakras! I will be posting yoga-related things on Tuesdays and Sundays all this month.

Peace and Light

Alanna xo

Before you go...

Let's keep in touch! Sign up for my latest posts and other exclusive content!

I won't ever send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by ConvertKit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *